Call For Papers

Green Data Mining

3rd International Workshop on Energy Efficient Scalable Data Mining and Machine Learning
Co-located with ECML-PKDD 2020. Conference Dates: September 14-18, 2020 Workshop Date: September 14, 2020 Ghent, Belgium (preliminary) Website:


This workshop aims to bring together people from different areas and backgrounds in data mining and machine learning that have a common interest in scalability, edge computing, and energy efficiency. These fields include, but are not limited to: deep learning, Internet of Things (IoT), scalable machine learning, systems for machine learning, information retrieval systems, and stream mining. The goal is to provide a venue where researchers with heterogeneous backgrounds can debate and discuss challenges related to building energy efficient machine learning algorithms, systems, and hardware platforms.

We accept original work, already completed, or in progress. Position papers also welcomed.
All accepted papers will be published in ECML-PKDD 2020 Workshop proceedings.


Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Scalable Machine Learning
  • Energy-efficient Deep Learning
  • Energy-efficient model training, and inference
  • Energy-efficient Data Mining
  • Performance and Energy Benchmarking for Machine Learning Systems
  • Domain-specific architectures for machine learning and/or data mining
  • Internet of Things (IoT) and/or embedded systems for machine learning
  • Edge computing
  • Energy Efficiency in Information Retrieval Systems
  • Machine learning Systems
  • Hardware accelerators for Deep Learning
  • Distributed algorithms for machine learning and data mining
  • Environmental Data Science applications
  • Climat Change impact

Key Dates

  • Paper submission deadline: June 9, 2020 Tuesday, June 23, 2020
  • Paper acceptance notification: Monday, July 20, 2020
  • Paper camera-ready deadline: Monday, August 3, 2020

All deadlines expire on 23:59 AOE (Anywhere On Earth).

Workshop Chairs

  • Eva García-Martín, Ekkono Solutions
  • Albert Bifet, Telecom-ParisTech
  • Crefeda Faviola Rodrigues, Arm
  • Heitor Murilo Gomes, University of Waikato

Steering Committee

  • Ricardo Baeza-Yates, NTENT and Universitet Pompeu Fabra
  • Christian Nordahl, Blekinge Institute of Technology
  • Håkan Grahn, Blekinge Institute of Technology
  • Rikard König, Ekkono Solutions
  • Henrik Linusson, Ekkono Solutions

Program Committee

Shahrooz Abghari, Ricardo Baeza-Yates, Albert Bifet, Veselka Boeva, Pierre Dagnely, Ana Freire, Eva García-Martín, Håkan Grahn, Rikard König, Niklas Lavesson, Henrik Linusson, Nuno Moniz, Isabelle Moulinier, Heitor Murilo Gomes, Christian Nordahl, Crefeda Faviola Rodrigues